View Cart

What A Time To Be Barely Alive


"To better understand Arms Aloft you need to get to know their homeland, The Great Lakes. No no, not Chicago or Cleveland or Detroit, these punk weirdos are from THE NORTH. Half the band hails from Minneapolis and the other two lumberjacks are from Eau Claire, WI. Up in that neck of the woods the people wear large bricks of cheese upon their heads in a display of provincial unity. Yah sure, you betcha. Well, these kids were destined for more than just ice-fishing and drinking Rhinelanders at the sawmill, so they started a band and caught people's attention with their leftist message and raspy melodies. And with "What A Time To Be Barely Alive" they have 12 songs that take rootsy punk (like Billy Bragg and early Gaslight Anthem) and blend it with the personal politics of bands like The Clash and Dillinger Four. Plus, the cover art has a herd of swine busting out of a pigpen. Ain't that some shit?"

Long term followers of All In Vinyl will know just how much I love this band. Back in 2008 I bought a load of copies of Comfort At Any Cost 7" for the distro after hearing it online. I loved it so much I'd try to sell a copy to anyone who'd talk to me. It worked so I bought another box full and 8 years on it remains the best selling distro record we've ever stocked. If you'd told me back then we'd be go on to be involved with 4 of their future releases I think you have an idea on how lucky/excited I've been on each and every one. I honestly believe this is their finest release to date, and given my love for their discography, that's saying something!

Comes on black or bone white vinyl (sold out, sorry!), with a digital download and full colour 12-page booklet with original artwork by Landon Sheely.

This is a co-release with a bunch of ace labels, so if you live outside of the UK you may find it cheaper to get your copy from Gilead Media or Red Scare (in US), Hectic Society or Guerilla Asso (mainland Europe) or Eager Beaver (Japan). If you want the CD or digital version then head over to Red Scare who will sort you out.

Why not pick up one of the few remaining copies of their previous record SAWDUST CITY or their split 7" with Guerilla Poubelle

This item isn't currently available.

Pressing Information

Bone White or Black Vinyl


  1. We Have Nothing To Lose But Our Chains…
  2. Three Altars For Rats
  3. The Truth Is Out There
  4. The Voyage Of The Dawndreaders
  5. What A Time To Be Barely Alive
  6. Hollowlujah!
  7. Untitled
  8. I Want To Be Leaves
  9. Sloslylove Is Playing At My House
  10. A Psalm For Our Jobs And Apartments
  11. West Grand Ave. Maria
  12. …And A World To Win
Looking for something
that's out of stock?